Skip to content

February 4, 2013

kimberlybellecross

Read alouds are timeless qualities of the schoolroom experience. I may have a biased opinion, being that of a teacher. Truthfully though, think back to grade school. You totally still remember a chapter book or awe inspiring picture book being read to you, right? I still remember Holes and A Child Called It being read to me in fifth and sixth grade. I was enthralled with the stories and eagerly anticipated that 15 minute block of reading where my teacher, putting down the teaching materials, picked up a book and took us to worlds of adventure and emotion.

I bring up this topic of ‘read alouds’ because I have been thoroughly enjoying my student’s reactions as of late to the various chapter books I have been reading to them daily. Two recents have been The BFG and Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl, both insight much laughter among my class. My…

View original post 286 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

